Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
Fuller Award
Share |

The Section's 2015 Fuller Award winner!

2016 - Elizabeth Carter

Congratulations to Aurora Water Principal Engineer Elizabeth Carter, who recently received the George Warren Fuller Award from the American Water Works Association. The prestigious award recognizes exemplary engineering skills and outstanding leadership. Carter has 29 years of engineering experience and has worked with Aurora Water for the past 9 nine years. She has served numerous leadership roles with the American Water Works Association, where she has volunteered for the past 12 years.



2015 - Kevin Bergschneider

Kevin Bergschneider, water program leader in HDR's Denver office, has received the American Water Works Association's prestigious George Warren Fuller Award from the Rocky Mountain Section. Bergschneider received the award and was formally recognized for his industry service at the AWWA Annual Water Conference and Exhibition held recently in Anaheim, California.

Bergschneider is the first HDR award recipient from the Rocky Mountain Section, whose membership includes over 2,300 from Colorado, Wyoming and New Mexico.

He has been a member of AWWA since 2000 and has served in numerous positions in the Rocky Mountain Section and at the national AWWA level.

The Fuller Award, established in 1937, is given each year to members of the association, designated by the sections, for distinguished service to the water supply field and in commemoration of the sound engineering skill, the diplomatic talent, and the constructive leadership of the members of the Section.

2013 - John Bambei

The 2013 recipient of the George Warren Fuller Award for the Rocky Mountain Section of AWWA (RMSAWWA) is John Bambei, Chief Engineer of Denver Water. After 39 years of service and 27 years of AWWA involvement, John retired from Denver Water in December 2013.

John is a nationally recognized pipeline expert, having edited the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) Manual of Practice No. 79 on Steel Penstocks, as well as being instrumental in the Water Research Foundation’s study entitled Failure of Prestressed Concrete Cylinder Pipe. He was also selected as an expert for a review panel that reported on the catastrophic failure of a large-diameter pipeline for the Massachusetts Water Resources Authority in 2010. Among John’s honors is the Stephen D. Bechtel Pipeline Engineering Award by ASCE in 2011.

John studied civil engineering at Colorado State University, where he played on the baseball team with Rocky Wiley, who would later become an AWWA President. Upon graduation, he went to work for a small consulting firm in the Denver area. After seeing a want ad in the paper for an engineering position at  Denver Water, John applied,  thinking, "Why not?" He didn't expect to be at Denver Water too long, but almost after four decades, he still states that "it's a good place to work." While at Denver Water, John became involved in large-diameter pipeline projects, and used AWWA standards extensively in his work. He felt that he could use his experience to help write many of the standards, and he has been doing so ever since. John has served on the steel pipe committee, and chaired the committee for the past twelve years. This group has been responsible for the most AWWA standards of any committee, with over twenty standards in place.  John also served on the air valve committee, and is on his second term on the AWWA Standards Council,  the body that reviews all AWWA standards.

John was chosen for the Fuller Award not just for his service to AWWA, but because, as past Section Director for the RMSAWWA, Martin Garcia, stated, "he exemplifies the characteristics cited in the Fuller Award description: sound engineering skill, brilliant diplomatic talent and constructive leadership."

As John was not unable to attend the Fuller Award presentation in  September, he was recognized at the Denver Water Board meeting by the Fuller Award Committee Chair, Andy Andreatta, in October.  John thanked Denver Water for allowing him to be active in the Association for all those years. At another recognition during the November meeting of the Section’s Board, he thanked RMAWWA for the award. Mary Presecan, the current Chair for the Section, reminded John that "If you run out of things to do in your retirement, give us a call."